Crabtree Apartments Guest Book

and Guest Images.

 

Please leave us a note in our Guestbook, we’d love to hear about your stay with us at Crabtree Apartments.

⇓ Click on the “Write a new entry” icon below to get started. Thank you!

 

Crabtree Apartments, Grand Turk Vacation Rental
Crabtree Apartments, Grand Turk Vacation Rental
Crabtree Apartments, Grand Turk Vacation Rental
Crabtree Apartments, Grand Turk Vacation Rental
Crabtree Apartments, Grand Turk Vacation Rental
Crabtree Apartments, Grand Turk Vacation Rental
Crabtree Apartments, Grand Turk Vacation Rental
Crabtree Apartments, Grand Turk Vacation Rental
Crabtree Apartments, Grand Turk Vacation Rental
Crabtree Apartments, Grand Turk Vacation Rental

Guest Photos

Havelock, NC from Havelock, NC wrote on September 13, 2016 at 7:00 pm:

Spectacular!!!

Our Guestbook - Crabtree Apartments

 
 
 
 
 
 
Fields marked with * are required.
Your E-mail address won't be published.
For security reasons we save the IP address 54.158.199.217.
It's possible that your entry will only be visible in the guestbook after we reviewed it.
We reserve the right to edit, delete, or not publish entries.
24 entries.
colleen colleen from Saugus wrote on June 30, 2018 at 8:02 am:
My third and his 4th trip here. This is the place we come for a low stress vacation. We love the location, with it's VERY PRIVATE beach just yards away. Snorkeling is amazing right outside the door and about two doors to the left!!! While my husband was diving with Smitty, (Grand Turk Adventures) I walked the beach and found about 8 lbs of sea glass and some beautiful shells and read a few books. The apartments are well maintained and clean. A/C units in the bedrooms for night time--the breeze with open windows and doors is enough to cool the rest of the unit. We took the bikes out a few time and also got a golf cart for a few days. The locals are friendly and courteous, the water is pristine, the dogs are protective of the apartment guests, sunsets are spectacular... We would like to make this a yearly trip, b/c no space/place/trip has ever left us feeling as calm or relaxed as we do, after a stay at the Crabtree Apartments.
Mike Owens Mike Owens from Leeds,Al wrote on June 17, 2018 at 6:14 am:
All I can say is WOW! My wife and I just got back from Grand Turk and stayed at the Crabtree Apts and it was one of the most beautiful and relaxed vacations ever. We stayed in the south unit and everything we needed was right there for us. If you're looking for a quiet and peaceful place to vacation and the most beautiful beach and water ever then this is your place. I cannot put into words how much we enjoyed our time here and will definitely will be coming back. Special thanks to Jessalyn for all your help in making this a dream come true and to Aralys and Fernando for being there for us with one phone call away. Awesome place!
Wendy Wendy from Ottawa wrote on March 8, 2018 at 5:38 am:
My Mom, sister and I travelled from Ottawa, Canada and stayed at Crabtree from Feb. 5th to the 13th, 2018. This is my second visit to Crabtree and the first for my Mom and sister, they loved it. I have been raving about it since my first visit with my children so this year my Mom, sister and I booked Crabtree. I definitely can say you will not be disappointed, Crabtree has everything you may possibly need. We stayed in the middle unit, which is slightly bigger than the other two units. The first time I stayed at Crabtree we stayed in the south unit, either one is great. All the apartments are very well kept, decorated beautifully and you cannot beat the location! Absolutely beautiful views of the turquoise sea, stunning beach and great swimming. We loved the potcake dogs, there were 4 sometimes 5. Between us and our great neighbours we fed and watered them all. Loved the donkeys, and they love carrots. You will even see horses, cows and goats grazing freely through out the island. The property managers, Arelys & Fernando were great, we had a slight problem with the water pressure, the water pump had to be re-primed, and it was taken care of promptly. Our neighbors, two fantastic ladies from England were so nice. We definitely enjoyed their company and shared many great laughs! We do miss them but keep in touch via email. If you like to horseback riding I highly recommend Sunset Rides and Tours. John (Big Mum), the owner takes great care of his horses. Besides running the stable he also has a food truck, so I encourage you to check it out ( he is a chef). Such a hard working young man! If you want to rent a car, ATV or golf cart I would recommend Omar from Grand Turk Adventures, very accommodating young man, a pleasure to deal with. We went whale watching with Oasis Divers however I would not book with them again, the winds were high and the sea was really, really rough. In our opinion the Manager should have rescheduled the trip. The captain and his mate were good, actually the captain was great, he maneuvered though the high waves with great skill. I can only assume that if he was told by the Manager to go out in rough waters, he has no choice but to go. I can't comment on their diving expeditions, perhaps that excursion would be fine. On my previous trip we booked with Blue Water Divers to Gibbs Cay, we had no issues and had a great time. I also recommend The Sandbar, Rake & Scrape at the Salt Raker, the Secret Garden Restaurant also at the Salt Raker and Island Treasues gift shop, all located on Duke St., Governor's Beach is fantastic, and also try Jack's Shack, great beach bar. The residents (Belongers) of Grand Turk are terrific, so friendly and very kind! As you can tell I absolutely love Crabtree!! Do go, you will not be disappointed. I booked directly with Jessalyn, she is wonderful to deal with! I can't wait to go back!!
Angela Angela from London, England wrote on February 23, 2018 at 4:45 am:
We stayed in the South Apartment (No. 1) for three weeks in Jan-February 2018. We had a wonderful, restful, relaxing time. The apartment has two bedrooms and is looking at the beautiful beach and turquoise sea. The facilities are well thought-out and overall well-equipped. Aralys and Fernando who manage the apartments could not have been more helpful. We had a problem on arrival with no internet but they resolved it immediately. I would suggest hiring a car and we found Omar to be a professional young man who was punctual and friendly. A visit to the Cruise Centre is an idea as the food is good and reasonably priced. Although we ate at Osprey, Salt Raker and Barbie's there is not one particular island restaurant I would recommend. E&T supermarket is good and well stocked on Thursdays onwards. A visit to Governor's Beach is essential - it must be one of the world's best beaches and is generally deserted. We were fortunate in that we had three wonderful Canadian ladies as our neighbours at Crabtree and we all socialised together to watch the amazing sunset. I should mention the donkeys who pay an almost daily visit - an apple or a few carrots are much appreciated. The dogs are ferocious with the donkeys but the rest of the time they just lie around, particularly after being fed. I cannot think of anywhere where I would rather be at this time of year so, if you have the opportunity, do go ahead and book Crabtree.
from Nashville from Nashville from tennessee wrote on August 8, 2017 at 10:22 am:
Stayed July 2017 Read all the previous glowing reviews with a bit of healthy skepticism but were blown away by our vacation. The location was P-E-R-F-E-C-T and the beach even better. The dogs were wonderful, Paws is (sweet old man) and Chace completely stole our hearts,. Donkeys showing up daily out back for some scratching and food were so fun. FYI- donkeys will eat dog food in bowls supplied and food can be bought in the local grocery stores. Just out your back door are snorkeling areas AND soft sandy bottom areas for just playing in the crystal blue waters. Bring a snorkel mask and flippers with you. Daily saw different species of fish and even a sea turtle snorkeling just out the back door. The rental was clean and thoughtfully well stocked with coffee, eggs, butter and OJ for that first morning breakfast. Nothing lacking and guest comfort oblivious important in furniture, beds, kitchen suppplies and veranda is awesome. The people of Grand Turk are so friendly and the historic buildings and alleys of Cockburn are very very special. (If you are looking for Disney perfect probably not the right place but if you want the real thing this is it.) BTW this review was written by an avowed beach-hater-Alaska-loving lady that cannot wait to return. Magical is the best way to describe our week at Crabtree, Grand Turk. Sooo looking forward to our return visit to Crabtree and all of Grand Turk. Have to rethink my position on beach vacations IF Crabtree and GT is on the table.😁
Pennatotenn Pennatotenn from Smyrna, Tennessee wrote on August 8, 2017 at 6:27 am:
Read all the previous glowing reviews with a bit of healthy skepticism but were blown away by our vacation. The location was P-E-R-F-E-C-T and the beach even better. The dogs were wonderful, Paws is (sweet old man) and Chace completely stole our hearts,. Donkeys showing up daily out back for some scratching and food were so fun. FYI- donkeys will eat dog food in bowls supplied and food can be bought in the local grocery stores. Just out your back door are snorkeling areas AND soft sandy bottom areas for just playing in the crystal blue waters. Bring a snorkel mask and flippers with you. Daily saw different species of fish and even a sea turtle snorkeling just out the back door. The rental was clean and thoughtfully well stocked with coffee, eggs, butter and OJ for that first morning breakfast. Nothing lacking and guest comfort oblivious important in furniture, beds, kitchen suppplies and veranda is awesome. The people of Grand Turk are so friendly and the historic buildings and alleys of Cockburn are very very special. (If you are looking for Disney perfect probably not the right place but if you want the real thing this is it.) Maybe not the best place for kids or teenagers that need the neon strips that litter so many US beach towns but God spent some EXTRA time on this island. BTW this review was written by an avowed beach-hater-Alaska-loving lady that cannot wait to return. Magical is the best way to describe our week at Crabtree, Grand Turk. Sooo looking forward to our return visit (not if but when). Have to rethink my position on beach vacations IF Crabtree and GT is on the table.
Spectacular!!! Spectacular!!! wrote on July 13, 2017 at 8:00 pm:
We don't really have much to add. The accommodations are perfect and far better than much of what you will find of the island. When we asked for another beach chair, the caretaker brought it right away, and when we asked for the bicycle tire to be fixed, it was taken care of. What more could you want? The dogs are a charming addition (bring treats). The best beach and snorkeling is right outside your door!! We stayed with our 13 year old twins who had a blast snorkeling, swimming and collection shells and sea glass (which is abundant). We would recommend renting a golf cart if you go in summer and have kids with you. It made exploring and getting around so easy! Also, bring a portable movie player as our kids enjoyed watching a movie on my laptop in the air conditioned bedroom at night as it got hot in the central part of the house. So, after some games on the patio after dinner, the kids would head to the bedroom for a movie, which provided an unexpected bonus of some quiet time for my husband and me We have been home only a couple of days and are dreaming of our return
Art and Molly Art and Molly from Gig Harbor, WA wrote on April 16, 2017 at 8:00 pm:
Our first impression was WOW. The beautiful water was right there for us to take in. The "Stairway to Heaven" steps took us down to the beach and never wanted to leave. Must admit, it took me a day to slow down to the pace of Grand Turk and found out how to relax and just enjoy again. I actually walked slower and smiled more. Art asked if I was bored while we read our books in the shade with the beach dogs under our chaises and I knew there was NOTHING else I would rather be doing. Coming home through New York was a reality hit, but I try to keep a little of the easy going island vibe with me as long as I can. Thank you for sharing this place with us. Would love to return one day soon!
Larry and Jan Fahey Larry and Jan Fahey from Newburyport, MA wrote on December 8, 2016 at 8:00 pm:
Larry and I came to Grand Turk on our honeymoon. We had such a wonderful time. All of the information that was available at our unit was very helpful. They list all of the activities that there are to do on the island. The many restaurants, snorkeling tours (which was our favorite), so many things to choose from. The island people are very friendly. The accommodation's were great. The ocean being steps away from your door was great. Beautiful beach, lots of privacy. We will return again. Thank you to your crew whom were very helpful and nice. We appreciated that there were some supplies to get us through until we could make it to the store. We didn't want to leave.
Phil Brown Phil Brown from Essex, MA wrote on November 11, 2016 at 8:00 pm:
Such a beautiful location to visit, thanks for making our visit so memorable.
Havelock, NC Havelock, NC from Havelock, NC wrote on September 13, 2016 at 3:00 pm:
Fantastic view. Fantastic Ocean accessibility. The apartment was perfect. We're going to ask for it again next year. A stones throw from the Caribbean. Great swimming right out the front door. Extremely comfortable. Very clean basic foodstuffs on hand. Great stay.
Jim Jim from Saugus, MA wrote on November 28, 2015 at 8:00 pm:
The best diving I have experienced!! The weather, water temp, and underwater sights are second to none. The apartments are a short walk or bike ride to some great restaurants, shopping (food and spirits), and the Grand Turk dive shop. Nightly we watched some of the most beautiful sunsets I have seen, all within steps from our back door. If you are looking for a low key, low stress, low maintenance vacation spot, this is the place for you. Even if you are not a diver, great snorkeling is available yards off the beach in back of the apartments!!
A.S. A.S. wrote on October 7, 2014 at 8:00 pm:
Crabtree apt was the perfect place for us visiting for the first time to Grand Turk. My self and two children 15,11 felt right at home. Everyday I was in awe of how beautiful my surroundings created by the apt and natural beauty of Grand Turk. It was well worth the extra money to be right on the beach and the next time I would like to do it the same way. Snorkeling was fantastic right outside and the sunsets and dogs a treat every day.
Nicholas Nicholas wrote on May 28, 2014 at 8:00 pm:
Our apartment was just ideal. While relatively simple, it was very nicely decorated and included everything we needed and more. The setting is fantastic, right on the beach and by the sea with a constant sound of the waves. It's also very close to the main part of town where the best restaurants are, so, therefore easily accessible on foot or by bike. We very much appreciated the provisions that had been provided on our arrival. We will definitely return - perhaps with our married family! Recommended for: Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Child
Wife and I Wife and I wrote on May 14, 2014 at 8:00 pm:
Quiet paradise on the beach! My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Grand Turk is truly an island paradise and Crabtree puts you smack dab in the middle of a fantastic beach setting. The apartments themselves are just a few minute bike ride (or about a ten minute walk) from "town" proper where you'll find the dive shops and restaurants. That's where you'll likely see most of the activity, so it was nice to head back "out of town" to Crabtree that felt remote but was only a short distance away. The apartment itself is ready for you with some staples when you arrive. The kitchen is well-supplied, so you can likely prepare anything you'd desire. Rooms are clean, light, and airy. We kept the windows and doors open when there to take advantage of the great ocean crosswinds through the unit. Ocean sounds were the perfect soundtrack at night for sleep. I'd also be remiss if I didn't mention the potcakes (island dogs). They were fantastic to have around, especially Paws, who went with us nearly everywhere. One word of warning: Be aware that some content in the island info binders is quite outdated. So if you're trying to locate any of the restaurants to the south (towards the cruise port) as we were, you won't find them. They are closed. We found it best to ask folks at the dive shop when we were interested in something specifically, as they usually could give us up-to-date info. We were also lucky enough to have a super friendly couple staying in one of other units while we were there. It was there 13th trip to Grand Turk, so they were a wealth of info. (Thanks Dave and Kathy!)
Phil Brown Phil Brown from Essex, MA wrote on February 20, 2014 at 8:00 pm:
I just wanted to say "Thank You" to all of the people that make this island getaway such a relaxing and enjoyable place to visit. Being steps away from the turquoise waters and white sand beach are as advertised and the sunsets are simply stunning! We're all looking forward to our next stay with Crabtree Apartments on the beautiful island of Grand Turk
Randall W Randall W wrote on November 13, 2013 at 8:00 pm:
Spent a week at Crabtree apartments. This place is fantastic. Great location on the beach, clean and fully stocked with everything you would need for a week of relaxing. The people are great. Grand Turk is a great place to relax and hang out on the beach. Dove with Grand Turk Diving while we were there. diving was great and so the GT Dving. We used Grace Bay car rental. I am glad we had a car for our stay. We made several trips to the store for Groceries. Although you could walk to town, we loved being able to explore different parts of the island. Sorry to say we did not get to checkout many restaurants. We cooked in most every night. Once we started happy hour on the beach, no felt like going out. We were perfectly happy hanging out on the beach watching the sunset. Potcakes were adorable. We had to buy a bag of dog food and feed them. I would definitely return to Crabtree on a future vacation. Thanks Jessalyn for making our stay fantastic.
Myself and Kids Myself and Kids wrote on August 22, 2013 at 8:00 pm:
Extremely comfortable, breathtakingly beautiful location, well appointed. Myself and two children 15, 11 loved our home away from home (NYC) at Crabtree apt just south of Cockburn Town, Grand Turk. The apartment was clean, comfortable and well appointed as to our needs. The island people were very welcoming and friendly and helped make our visit wonderful. We were accompanied by usually three "potcakes" ( island dogs) who helped us feel safe and welcome during our stay as well. We snorkeling on "our beach" and the fish ( including the resident barracuda) were extraodinary! Only to be topped by our trip with Oasis divers to swim with the rays and snorkel the coral and hunt for conch. We also loved riding horsed through the water and touring the island by bike. The cruise ships were not a bother and allowed my son some tourist shopping as most shops were only open when a ship was in. We rode one day to the cruise ship center but would not do that again when we come back. We were lucky to be a part of emancipation celebrations with a service, re- reading and local music. I also enjoyed the national museum to deepen my experience of Grand Turk. Stayed August 2013 with family
My Son and I My Son and I wrote on June 11, 2013 at 8:00 pm:
Perfect getaway on Grand Turk. My son and I stayed at Crabtree Apartments in June 2013 and loved it. The apartments are conveniently located on the central, west coast of GDT. 15 min walk to Osprey or 20 mins to Sand Bar for lunch or dinner (walk the beach to Osprey rather than the road). Even though they're on the airport/cruise port road, the apartments are quiet and feel secluded. The beach is peaceful and we rarely saw more than a couple other people (typically another Crabtree dweller). We often walked the beach, returning to see only our own footprints in the powdery sand. The apartments are clean, well stocked and very comfortable. Open the kitchen windows a bit and swing the patio doors open and there's a wonderful cross-breeze to keep everyone cool. The bedrooms have A/C if you need to take the edge off. The wireless was reliable and very adequate for most email/FB type lurking. It was really nice to have the bikes to ride to the store, to town, the lighthouse, or down to the cruise center to stare at the cruisers. (That would probably be my one complaint - the bikes need some love. They were semi-functional but in poor repair.) Blue Water Divers (Mitch and Audrey) would pick us up right on the beach outside our room in the morning - diving couldn't get any easier than that. Snorkeling off of Crabtree, like most of GDT, is pretty meh. If you're patient you can see some tangs or jacks, or maybe some juvy fish in amongst the sand and dead coral. But the real show is out at the wall 200-300 yds away. Even if you're comfortable swimming that far it is probably not a great option due to possible boat traffic. Then again, just hanging out in 80+ degree gorgeous Caribbean-blue water is such a gift that we didn't really care. A group of potcake dogs seems to have adopted the Crabtree. Whenever we'd head to town they'd be in tow, excited to have companionship and rallying all the dogs on the way to join us. As others have pointed out, groceries are shockingly expensive (that's not uncommon in the Caribbean though). If you have the spare room in your check-in it's worth bringing a few things to avoid having to purchase them. Snacks, like m&m's. Coffee (ground for a #4 drip-style filter). Laundry detergent (none at the apts). As you may have guessed, Grand Turk is not the place to come for Grand Cayman-style shopping, restaurants or luxury living. Bohio (Guanahani) on the northern end probably comes the closest to that in terms of hotel/restaurant. However, if you like quiet, laid-back, friendly and an authentic Caribbean experience, Grand Turk is a wonderful choice. The cruise port has changed things for sure, but in perhaps a win/win way for the island. Other than the funky bus, Segway and 4-wheeler tours that buzz through briefly on cruise days, the island is much the same as it was 20 years ago. In general, the cruise ships come and go pretty quickly, and most of the cruisers stay in the Margaritaville village. The beach there has some 3000 lounge chairs elbow to elbow. It's a true Wall-E spectacle of humanity when a ship is in port. In terms of diving, the wall on GDT is IMO equivalent to diving on Little Cayman or Bonaire. We did not see any pelagics while diving on this trip but did see a pod of wild dolphins alongside the dive boat. A couple decades ago we would reliably see mantas cruising the wall but apparently, per the dive masters, not so much anymore. However, the corals and reef life on the wall are varied and in fantastic shape. Thanks in large part to the permanent moorings and good stewardship. We saw parrotfish, wrasses, garden eels, triggerfish, tangs, reef and arrow crabs, spotted drums, needlefish, trumpetfish - all the usual cast of familiar characters. Even the stodgy, seen-it-all diver should consider the snorkel trip to Round and Gibbs Cays. A fun, semi-wild snorkel experience on Round Cay through Disneyesque elkhorn corals. Rum punch on Gibbs' perfect sugary beach with stingrays nudging your feet. I'd recommend using Blue Water if you do. Some of the other dive centers are taking conch and feeding the rays (of course, that's why they come around - but it's a dodgy practice from a habitat management perspective). And, by the way, the island has a fantastic hospital up north by Bohio. We had a dive issue that required a Sunday night visit to the emergency room and their quality and level of care was excellent. We would unhesitatingly recommend Crabtree Apartments, and we definitely plan to stay there again! Room Tip: The two end units offer the most privacy but all three are excellent
Secret Paradise! Secret Paradise! wrote on March 6, 2013 at 8:00 pm:
We just recently stayed at the Crabtree Apartments while at our week long stay on Grand Turk. It was exactly what we wanted in a rental. We had the luxury of being able to cook and grill meals and just steps away from the beach it was a dream vacation. The snorkeling right out front is amazing and we were lucky enough to have very calm and clear days to go exploring. Also coordinating your trip is so so easy and the owners truly made it a painless process. I loved this part! We are already planning our return trip within the next year. We appreciated the middle unit and the verdana was perfect for a mid day nap or enjoying breakfast. The units also come with beach cruisers and a washer and dryer. This came in very helpful throughout the week. Can't wait to return! Room Tip: Book early!